Uwe Cockx

Deputy Head of Division


+49 241 80 94041



The Senate is one of the central university organs.  Its tasks are outlined in Higher Education Act Paragraph 22 and Paragraph 16 in RWTH Aachen Bylaws. The Senate’s main responsibilities are:

  • Creating and amending of the University’s statutes, basic constitution, and framework regulations
  • Approval of the elected members of the Rectorate and approval of the list of members of the Board of Governors
  • Awarding of honors

The Senate additionally gives recommendations and statements on

  • the University Development Plan
  • the Agreement on Objectives
  • evaluation reports
  • the budget plan
  • the distribution of financial and personnel resources among faculties, central academic institutions, central service units, and the medical institutions

The Senate is made up of 26 voting members.  Non-voting members include the Rectorate, deans, an equal opportunity officer, representation of the staff council, representative for severely disabled individuals and the chair of the General Students’ Commitment.

The Council of Elders aids in the senate in preparation for senate sessions.