Research interests

  • NMR in material science
  • NMR in process technic
  • Compact NMR

Educational and professional experience

1993-now Professor of Macromolecular Chemistry
1988 Habilitation in Physical Chemistry, Univ. of Mainz
1984-1992 Member of staff, Max-Planck-Institute of Polymer Research
1983 Member of staff, Macromolecular Chemistry, Univ. Bayreuth
1982 NATO postdoctoral fellow, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, Canada
1981 Promotion to Dr. rer. nat. in Physical Chemistry, TU Berlin

Scholarships and Awards

2017 EAS Award for outstanding achievments in NMR, Eastern Analytical Symposium, Princton, NJ, USA
2016 Paul J. Flory Polymer Research Prize, POLYCHAR, Poznan, Poland
2015 Dr. honoris causa from Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
2014 Harold Herzlich Distinguished Technology Achievement Award, International Tire Exhibition and Conference ITEC, Acron
2012 President of the Ampere Society
2012 Associate editor, Journal of Magnetic Resonance
2009 Honorary member of the Indian Society of Magnetic Resonance
2008 Third Price of the Northrhine-Westphalian State Patent Competition 2008 for the “Invention of the Profile NMR-MOUSE”
2008 Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance
2007 Ampere Prize of the Groupement Ampere for Development of the NMR-MOUSE and its Applications to various fields of science and technology
2006 Visiting Miller Professor, Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science, UC Berkeley
2003-2009 Member of the Large-Scale instrumentation Committee of DFG
1999-2005 DFG Collaborative Research Project FOR 333, Surface NMR of Elastomers and Biological Tissues
2002 Dr. honoris causa from the Technical University Cluj-Napoca
Founder and Past Chair of the Division of Spatially Resolved Magnetic Resonance of the Ampere Society