With Strong Professional Qualifications into the Future


The RWTH Department of Mathematics bade farewell to its graduates.

  Absolventinnen und Absolventen auf der Bühne © Martin Lux The Department of Mathematics bade farewell to their graduates in a graduation ceremony in December.

At the graduation celebration, Vice-Rector Rudolf Mathar, who represented the Rector's Office, congratulated the mathematics graduates. Many attended and received their diplomas in the company of their family and friends. Aside from the Bachelor's, Master's, Staatsexamen, and Diplom graduates for the 2014/15 winter semester and 2015 summer semester, graduates from the Bachelor teacher training course of study attended for the first time.

Three graduates had an additional reason to celebrate: Katrin Dannert, Jonas Jansen, and Andrea Thevis were honored with the 2015 Schöneborn Award for outstanding Bachelor's theses by Professor Jan Schirawski, on behalf of the Association of Friends and Supporters of RWTH – proRWTH.

Successful studies  particulary in mathematics  requires not only talent and hard work from students, but also involvement and communication from the lecturers. The Mathematics/Physics/Computer Science Student Representative Council honors lecturers' work with a teaching award. This year Professor Eva Zerz was honored for the "best independent teaching" and Dipl.-Math. Cornelia Dieckmann for the "best teaching support."