Outstanding Graduates Receive the 2021 Friedrich Wilhelm Award

Many individuals in a lecture hall Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

Presentation of the 2021 Friedrich Wilhelm Award.


In a special ceremony, RWTH Aachen University honored 26 graduates with the 2021 Friedrich Wilhelm Award in recognition of their outstanding achievements. These included 14 Master's theses, 11 dissertations, and 1 habilitation (post-doctoral lecture qualification).

The 2021 Friedrich Wilhelm Award was presented to Claudia Merger M. Sc, Georg Pitschelatow M. Sc., Jereon Thomas Vossen M. Sc., Marie Enders M. Sc., Felix Heusch M. Sc., Leonie Charlotte Josefine Mester M. Sc., Marvin Wen Huang M. Sc., Fabian Wüllhorst M. Sc., Christina Alina Schwanen M. Sc., Moritz Kröplin M. Sc., Erik Wehr M. Sc, Lilian Kojan M. A., Magnus Schwarz M. A., Stefan Bomsdorf M. Sc., Dr. rer. nat. Joel Boakye Mensah, Dr.-Ing. Jan Frank Serode, Dr.-Ing. Margarita Chasapi, Dr.-Ing. Kryss Lisanne Waldschläger, Dr.-Ing. Dominik Bongartz, Dr. rer. nat. Laura Dorothea Zieger, Dr.-Ing. Lotte Geck, Dr.-Ing. Weifeng Zhou, Dr. rer. medic. Benjamin Theek, and Privatdozentin Dr. med. dent. Juliana Marotti Großhausen.

Supporting Teaching and Research

The Friedrich Wilhelm Award is presented by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current AachenerMünchener holding company. The key aim of the award is to promote research and teaching, as well as support students and scientists at RWTH. The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he received a donation of 5,000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhineland. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen University.


Rector Ulrich Rüdiger (right) presented the 2021 Friedrich Wilhelm Award to outstanding graduates of RWTH Aachen University.