Awarding of 2012 Otto Junker Awards


Four RWTH Aachen graduates have been honored for their outstanding academic performance: Diploma Engineers Dominik Auras, Tobias Diekhans, Matthias Benedikt Schnitzler, and Joachim Seitz accepted  the 2012 Otto Junger Award during a celebration in the SuperC. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Miskiewicz, Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Otto Junker Foundation, and Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Bleck, Chair of the foundation’s advisory committee handed out the awards.  RWTH Aachen Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg and Dr. Ambros Schindler, member of the Otto Junker GmbH supervisory board and chair of the foundation congratulated the award winners.

  Awarding of 2012 Otto Junker awards Copyright: © Martin Lux Dr. Ambros Schindler, Aufsichtsrat der Otto Junker GmbH, Dominik Auras, Professor Wolfgang Bleck, Tobias Diekhans, Dr. Stefan Miskiewicz, Joachim Seitz, RWTH Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg, and Matthias Benedikt Schnitzler (f.l.)

The Otto Junker Award is conferred to students in the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering – Division of Materials Science and Engineering – and in the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology. The Otto Junker Foundation was founded in Lammersdorf in 1970 by Dr.-Ing. h.c. Otto Junker. As a graduate of RWTH Aachen, he felt closely related to the university and valued scientific exchange. The central purpose of the foundation is to support talented researchers and numerous individual projects.