Election Office

  Pen laying on RWTH Aachen forms Copyright: RWTH Aachen

The Electoral Office, situated in Division of Academic Affairs, organizes the election of senate members and faculty councils at RWTH Aachen.



Larissa Franke

Head of the Electoral Office


+49 241 80 99091



Posting Board

The Official Posting Board is on the ground floor of the Main Building in the west wing by Room 030.


2019 Council Elections in the Student Group

The elections for the Senate and the faculty councils for the Student Group will be held June 24 to 28, 2019. At the same time, the elections for the student councils will be carried out by secret ballot. For more information, please refer to the German webpages on elections offered by the Student Representatives of AStA.

If students apply for an absentee ballot for either of these two elections, then the application is valid for both, as long as the students are eligible to vote in both elections.

The timing of the elections process for the Senate and the faculty councils is illustrated in the preliminary election schedule. In the downloads section below, you will also find information regarding the distribution of seats according to electoral districts.

The electoral register can be viewed between April 29 and June 13, 2019 at the Election Office (Hauptgebäude, Templergraben 55, Raum 030). In case of inaccuracies in the electoral register, appeals can be filed to the Chairman of the Election within the viewing period. The appeal must be made in writing or officially recorded on site. Eligible to vote are only those individuals who are listed in the electoral register.

The templates for election nominations can be used to nominate an individual and must be submitted by May 6, 2019, 12 noon. Late entries will not be considered. More information about submitting election nominations can be found in the above template.

When forming committees, it is important to ensure that men and women are equally represented. This is to be taken into account when nominating candidates. Please also note the following document (de) from the NRW Ministry of Education and Research.

The election announcements for the Student Group were published on the Election Office's official posting board on April 15, 2019. They contain all the important election regulations.

The election nominations were published on the Election Office's official posting board from May 28, 2019. This contains a list of all students standing for election.

The official results were published on the Election Office's official posting board on July 2, 2019.