Professor Matthias Wessling, Vice-Rector for Research and Structure at RW Copyright: © Peter Winandy


Prof. Dr.

Matthias Wessling


Vice-Rector for Research and Structure


Building 101

Room 055

Templergraben 55

52062 Aachen


Phone: +49 241 80 95470
Fax Fax: +49 241 80 92102


The Vice-Rector of Research and Structure's responsibilities include guaranteeing general research prerequisites to intensify the engineering and technical research profile of all the RWTH Aachen faculties, the establishment of large-scale projects such as Excellence Clusters and Collaborative Research Centers, and involvement in large European projects.

Furthermore, as chair of the Infrastructure working group, he provides the Rectorate and the different groups at RWTH Aachen with information on desired structural changes.


Curriculum Vitae

Academic Degrees
1989 to 1994 Doctorate (Dr.-Ing) in Membrane Technology, University of Twente (Professor Smolders), the Netherlands
1989 Degree in Chemical Engineering (Diplom), TU Dortmund University and University of Cincinnati, OH, USA
1983 to 1987 Student of Chemical Engineering, TU Dortmund University
since 11/2020 Member of the Advisory Board of the University of Twente
since 08/2018 Vice-Rector for Research and Structure, RWTH Aachen University
2014 to 2018 Vice Dean, in Charge of Strategy at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, RWTH Aachen University
2014 Visiting professor, Stanford University, Center for Turbulence Research
since 2013 Steering committee RWTH Profile Area "Energy Chemical Process Engineering", RWTH Aachen University
2011 to 2019

Management team member DFG Cluster of Excellence "Tailor Made Fuels from Biomass"
TMFB, RWTH Aachen University

Since 2011

Member of the Scientific Board at the DWI – Leibniz-Institut für Interaktive Materialien e.V.

Chair of Chemical Process Engineering, RWTH Aachen University

Since 2010

Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professor at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, RWTH Aachen University

Vice speaker SFB 985 "Functional microgels and microgel systems", RWTH Aachen University

Adjunct Professor, University of Twente, NL

2007 to 2008 Interim Dean of Faculty Science and Technology, University of Twente
2007 Visiting professor at Bio-X, University of Stanford, CA, USA
2006 to 2009 Group leader Chemical Engineering, University of Twente
1999 to 2009 Professor, Chair Membrane Science and Technology, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Twente, NL
1997 to 1999 Department head Separation Process Engineering at Akzo Nobel Chemicals Research, NL
1995 to 1997 Assistant Professor in the Chair of Prof. H. Strathmann, University of Twente, NL
1993 to 1994 Senior Research Scientist, MTR Inc, CA, USA
2019 Price Winner of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Price
2016 ERC Advanced Investigator Grant ConFluReM
2010 Alexander-von-Humboldt Professor Award
Since 2003 Honorary Scientific Member - Russian Academy of Science Institute TIPS, Topchiev Institute of Petrochemical Sciences, Moscow
1994 Best Ph.D. Thesis Award, European Membrane Society

Similar Topics