Group Representation for Academic Staff


Responsibilities and Elections

The Group Representation for Academic Staff, GVWM for short, at RWTH Aachen is an elected committee that contributes to the decision making process regarding university politics and advises on decisions made by the University's various boards. The group representation thus serves as a communication platform and coordinates the interests of RWTH Aachen's academic staff. Members of the GVWM are elected for two years through the RWTH Aachen's council elections. Academic staff members directly elect representatives in the RWTH Aachen Senate and respective faculty councils, independent of the Group Representation. Senators from the group of academic staff are automatically members of the GVWM.


Meeting Dates

  1. Regular sessions

    Wednesdays from 1 to 3pm

    April 21, 2021
    June 9, 2021
    July 21, 2021

    October 13, 2021
    December 8, 2021
    January 26, 2022 

    Großes Senatssitzungszimmer, Room 008
    RWTH Maining Building


During the sessions, which usually take place the Wednesday before the Senate session, the GVWM chair and representatives from the groups in the university councils report on the happenings on the university boards and working groups. Pending decisions are brought to a vote. These sessions are also used to have internal and external speakers present current focuses of university politics and work, so that all academic staff members have the opportunity to quickly receive information. Examples include the implementation of the Excellence Initiative, the PuL Project, or the introduction of the new Corporate Design.

For this reason, guests are welcome to participate in the group representation's sessions.

The GVWM elects and sends academic staff members into the Committees and Boards of the University's Senate and Rectorate.



Name Contact
Akad. Direktor
Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Bettray
Phone: +49 241 80 94680

Referentin Institutsleitung
Dr. phil. Ute Müller
Phone: +49 241 80 99597

Stellvertretender Institutsleiter
Dr.-Ing. Götz Heßling
Phone: +49 241 80 95794

Als ständiger Gast aus dem PRwiss
Mischa Meier M. A.Phone: +49 241 80 98113

Dr.-Ing. Mathias WienPhone: +49 241 80 27867

Dipl.-Inform. Andreas SchreiberPhone: +49 241 80 29203

Dr.-Ing. André StollenwerkPhone: +49 241 80 21166

Nicole Mobers
Phone: +49 241 80 97666

Obleute der Fachbereiche/Fakultäten
Fakultät 1
Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Bettray
Fakultät 2
Akademischer Rat
Dipl.-Ing. Tobias Schell
Phone: +49 241 80 90351

Fakultät 3
Dr.-Ing. Maximilian PrasterPhone: +49 241 80 25864

Fakultät 4
Dr.-Ing. Thomas JanitzkyPhone: +49 241 80 95333

Fakultät 5
Dr.-Ing. Simon Münstermann
Phone: +49 241 80 25985

Fakultät 6
Dr.-Ing. Mathias Wien
(siehe Zeile 8 / Versammlungsleiter)
Fakultät 7
Knut WormstädtPhone: +49 241 80 92593

Fakultät 8
Dr. rer. pol. Andrea GrevenPhone: +49 241 80 99396

Fakultät 10
Jochen PfefferPhone: +49 241 80 88518

Fakultät 0 (Zentrale Einrichtungen)
Andreas Schreiber
(siehe Zeile 9)
Wahlbeauftragter:Dr.-Ing. Andre StollenwerkTel.: +49 241 80 21166