Staff Unit: Sustainability and University Governance


The Sustainability and University Governance staff unit supports the Rector's Office with preparations for decisions and with the implementation of strategic goals. The Office of the Board of Governors is managed by the staff unit.



The staff unit coordinates all activities concerning the overarching topic of sustainability, which is relevant across the entire University.

This includes acting as a central point of contact for all questions relating to the topic, but also coordinating measures to make the University’s activities in teaching and learning, everyday operation, knowledge transfer, and the relevant social aspects resulting from this, sustainable in the long term.

The staff unit is responsible for creating and publishing the University’s Sustainability Report.


University Governance

In particular, the staff unit team supports the Chancellor and the Deputy Chancellor in day-to-day responsibilities and in coordinating matters pertaining to the Faculties and the Central University Administration.

The staff unit is responsible, among other activities, for planning, implementing, and coordinating, at the administrative level, the decisions agreed in the meetings of the Planning and Allocation Committee and of the Senate’s Committee for Structural, Financial, and Construction Matters.

The Rector's Delegates are appointed after close consultation with the Rector's Office. The Rector's Office commissions RWTH professors as delegates for representative functions in specific areas or regions as well as individual tasks that are strategically important for the University.


Office of the Board of Governors

The Office of the Board of Governors supports the Board of Governors in all matters within the Board's responsibility. In particular, the Office assists the Board of Governors in planning and conducting Board meetings and prepares decision to be taken by the Board and their implementation at the University.



Name Contact
Leitung Stabsstelle
Katharina Jochim M. A. LL. M.
Phone: +49 241 80 90939

Vorzimmer Kanzlervertreter
Luisa Königs
Phone: +49 241 80 90112

Stellvertretende Leitung
Annalena Tomazin M. Sc.
Phone: +49 241 80 96748

Hannah Georg M. Sc.Phone: +49 241 80 99213

Referentin Hochschulrat
Dipl.-Kff. Eva Salentin
Phone: +49 241 80 93939

Dipl.-Ing. Carla SplinterPhone: +49 241 80 99318

Studentische Hilfskraft
Maria Esken

Kontakt Nachhaltigkeit Phone: +49 241 80 96748