2019 Distinguished RWTH Fellows


In 2018, Professor Leif Kobbelt from RWTH's Computer Science Department and Professor Günther Schuh from the RWTH Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering were named RWTH Fellows. The official award ceremony took place on April 5, 2019 as part of the RWTHtransparent event.

The RWTH Fellows program honors outstanding professors at RWTH who have shown outstanding research achievements and have significantly contributed to the University's excellent reputation.

Leif Kobbelt is one of the pioneers in the field of geometry processing and has established one of the world's leading research groups here in Aachen. Through his outstanding scientific contributions, the promotion of young scientists, as well as his active role within the international research community, his achievements in geometry processing have had a significant and lasting impact on RWTH Aachen University.

Günther Schuh has a broad range of responsibilities here at RWTH. The holder of the Chair of Production Systems is also one of the four directors of the RWTH Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL and founder and managing director of RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH. The visionary scientist has left his mark both in the production engineering research community as well as in business and industry. Professor Schuh is widely known as the founder of StreetScooter GmbH and e.Go Mobile AG. He has put Aachen on the map as a hub for electric mobility.


RWTH Fellow 2019 – Award Ceremony