2020 Distinguished RWTH Fellows


Appointed as 2020 RWTH Fellows are Professor Christian Brecher from the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Professor Matthias Jarke from the Department of Computer Science.

Christian Brecher is an outstanding researcher and has contributed significantly to the reputation and “excellence status” of the University. He has a unique ability to apply research results to real-world challenges and thus helps to solve the societal challenges of our time. Not least hanks to his groundbreaking research activities, RWTH’s production engineering departments are internationally acclaimed.

Matthias Jarke played a major role in the establishment of the first two DFG-funded Collaborative Research Centers in Aachen's computer science department. He was also one of the first at RWTH and throughout Germany to recognize the importance of making German university education and training internationally competitive, introducing two of the first three international, English-taught Master's programs at RWTH. His commitment to internationalization can also be seen in his role as founding dean for Engineering and Computer Science at the German University of Technology in Oman, GUtech for short, which was established under the guidance of RWTH Aachen University. He is intensively involved in training and recruiting top-level researchers, not only in computer science, but also in related disciplines.


RWTH Fellows 2020