"Go East Summer Schools 2017" Program Open for Applications


With its "Go East" intitative the DAAD aims to encourage more students from Germany to complete study or research stays abroad in Middle-Eastern, South-Eastern and Eastern European countries or in the South Caucasus and Central Asia. In order to promote future researchers dvelopping an interest in international matters early on, the DAAD offers scholarships to students, who want to participate in the Go East summer school program. These continuing education courses are offered every year by participating universities in the region on a variety of different topics. The program is being funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF for short.


Starting March 1, 2017, students may apply for courses at one of 56 summer schools in 20 different countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyztan, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldavia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Serbia and Ukraine.

In a two-pronged application procedure, interested students need to apply for admission at the summer school of their choice while also applying with the DAAD to receive a scholarship. The admission deadline on the DAAD portal is the same as the admission deadline of the respective summer school.

Further information on the program as well as all participating summer schools can be found on the DAAD page (de).