Deutsch-Französische Hochschule – DFH


Support for German-French Double Master Degree Programs

What is the Deutsch-Französische Hochschule?

The Deutsch-Französische Hochschule – DFH for short – is a unique institution worldwide for the promotion of Franco-German relations in the university sector. DFH is a network of member universities from Germany and France. It is classified as a a university under international law and was founded in 1997 by an intergovernmental agreement – the Weimar Agreement. This came into force on September 1999 and forms the legal basis for the international higher education institution and defines its departments and tasks. The institution’s administrative headquarters are in Saarbrücken. This YouTube video explains the DFH in more detail.

What is the mission of the Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule?

The DFH provides an expert center which aims to strengthen the collaboration between Germany and France in higher education and research. It promotes the relationships and the exchange between French and German universities, to establish and maintain binational courses of study, doctoral programs, and research initiatives, among other objectives.

What is the connection between RWTH and DFH?

RWTH is a member university of DFH and offers, under the umbrella of DFH, the German-French T.I.M.E. Double Master's program in collaboration with a group of five high-profile French universities.

Currently, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology are participating in the T.I.M.E. program, which receives funding from DFH.