IntSpire – Internationalization at RWTH

  Professor Ute Habel, Vice-Rector for International Affairs, presents Dr Alexander Birich with the IntSpire award in January 2024. Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

Professor Ute Habel, Vice-Rector for International Affairs, presents Dr Alexander Birich with the IntSpire award in January 2024.



Team IntSpire


+49 241 90665



IntSpire – the Prize for Internationalization

Nomination Period will take place from September 1 to October 25

The University's international orientation permeates all areas of our institution and changes it in a far-reaching and lasting way. This is also fitting because global thinking and a perspective far beyond one's own horizons are crucial for education, teaching, research, and the future of our society. In the search for excellent solutions to the global challenges of our time, we are focusing on being creative, diverse, and international.

Many individuals and institutions are committed to promoting and advancing the various facets of internationalization at RWTH far beyond general expectations or requirements. With the IntSpire Prize, RWTH Aachen University is honoring individuals and institutions at the University who have made an extraordinary contribution to internationalization at RWTH.

The prize is awarded once a year and is endowed with 500 euros. Inspiring achievements and personal commitment to internationalization are made visible and honored by the University management with this prize.


Nomination Form

The proposal form appears during the nomination period.


How Do I Participate?

Are you studying, researching, or working at RWTH and know a staff member, student, organization, institution, or institute that is particularly committed to internationalization of RWTH? Then nominate them for the IntSpire prize!

The scope of activities considered as commitment to internationalization is wide and includes, for example:

  • Development of a special service or support offers for international target groups
  • Measures for the improved professional integration of international students or researchers
  • Introduction of new exchange and mobility formats
  • Promotion of intercultural exchange
  • Initiation of new international partnerships or projects
  • Development of joint international research infrastructures
  • Development of innovative international teaching and research formats

The jury, consisting of representatives from University management, professors, International Office, the Staff Council for Technical and Administrative Employees, the Staff Council for Academic Staff, and the students of RWTH Aachen University, will select a prize winner from the proposals received based on the written justification.

The prize will be awarded each year in a special ceremony.

Individuals (students, researchers, staff) or RWTH Aachen University institutions (e.g. organizations, departments, institutes, student organizations) can make nominations. Please note that it is not possible to nominate yourself for the prize.

During the nomination period from September 1 to October 25 of each year, a proposal form will appear in the yellow box. Please fill this out and submit your proposal by email by October 25. Please save the PDF before filling it out.


Past Award Ceremonies


2023 IntSpire Prizewinner

The IntSpire 2023 Prize went to Dr. Alexander Birich in recognition of his special services to internationalization efforts at RWTH.

Dr. Birich helps international students and employees of the Institute of Metallurgy and Electrometallurgy during their first weeks here in Aachen. He not only makes it easier for them to join the University, but he also helps them find accommodation and encourages integration through events – often outside of working hours.

Vice-Rector for International Affairs Professor Ute Habel presented the winner with the prize at the RWTHtransparent event on January 26, 2024.

The International Office and the Vice-Rector for International Affairs warmly congratulate the winners and look forward to the selection round for the 2024 IntSpire Prize. Nominations can be submitted from September 1, 2024 to October 15, 2024.

Play Video
2023 IntSpire Prize – Dr. Alexander Birich
Play Video
2022 IntSpire Prize – 3 E’s 4 Africa
Play Video
IntSpire 2021 – The prize for Internationalization at RWTH Aachen