Current Collaborative Research Centers

  Office Building at the new "RWTH Aachen Campus" Research Park Copyright: RWTH Aachen  
Sonderforschungsbereiche und Transregio-SFBs an der RWTH Aachen
No. Designation Spokesperson
SFB 1394 Structural and Chemical Atomic Complexity: From Defect Phase Diagrams to Material Properties Prof. Dr. Sandra Korte-Kerzel
SFB 1382 Gut-Liver Axis – Functional Circuits and Therapeutic Targets Prof. Dr. Oliver Pabst
SFB 1120 Precision Manufacturing by Controlling Melt Dynamics and Solidification in production processes Prof. Dr.-Ing. Uwe Reisgen
SFB 985 Functional Microgels and Microgel Systems Prof. Dr. Walter Richtering
SFB 917 Nanoswitches - Resistively Switching Chalcogenides for Future Electronics Prof. Dr. Matthias Wuttig
SFB 761 Steel Ab Initio: Designing Novel Ferric Materials Using Quantum Mechanics Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Bleck
TRR129 Oxyflame – Development of Methods and Models to Describe the Reaction of Solid Fuels in an Oxy-Fuel Atmosphere Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhold Kneer
TRR 57 Organ Fibrosis: From Mechanisms of Injury to Modulation of Disease Prof. Dr. Christian Trautwein

Other Transregio-SFBs with Spokespersons at RWTH Aachen
No. Designation University Managing Funds Spokesperson
TRR 219 Mechanisms of Cardiovascular Complications in Chronic Kidney Disease Saarland University Prof. Dr. Joachim Jankowski
TRR 96 Thermo-Energetic Design of Machine Tools TU Dresden Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Brecher
Transregio SFBs with Participation from RWTH Researchers
No. Designation Spokesperson Responsible at RWTH
TRR 257 P³H – Particle Physics Phenomenology after the Higgs Discovery

Prof. Dr. Kirill Melnikov, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Prof. Dr. Michael Krämer
TRR 195 Symbolische Werkzeuge in der Mathematik und ihre Anwendung Prof. Dr. Gunter Malle, TU Kaiserslautern Prof. Dr. Gerhard Hiß
TRR 188 Schädigungskontrollierte Umformprozesse Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Erman Tekkaya, TU Dortmund Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Hirt
TRR 136 Function oriented manufacturing based on characteristic process signatures Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ekkard Brinksmeier, University of Bremen Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefanie Reese
TRR 87 Pulsed High-Power Plasmas for the Synthesis of Nanostructural Functional Layers Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Awakowicz, Ruhr-Universität Bochum Prof. Jochen Schneider, PhD
TRR 40 Technological Foundations for the Design of Thermally and Mechanically Highly Loaded Components for Future Space Transportation Systems Prof. Dr.-Ing. Nikolaus A. Adams, Technische Universität München Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Schröder
TRR 32 Patterns in Soil-Vegetation-Atmosphere Systems: Monitoring, Modelling and Data Assimilation Prof. Dr. C.Simmer, University of Bonn Dr. Norbert Klitzsch
Collaborative Research Centers with Participation from RWTH Researchers
No. Designation Spokesperson Responsible at RWTH
SFB 1371 Microbiome Signatures – Functional Relevance in the Digestive Tract Prof. Dr. Dirk Haller, TU München Prof. Dr. Thomas Clavel
SFB 1330 Hearing acoustics: Perceptual principles, Algorithms and Applications (HAPPAA) Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg Prof. Dr. Michael Vorländer
SFB 1211 Evolution der Erde und des Lebens unter extremer Trockenheit Prof. Dr. Tibor J. Dunai, Universität zu Köln Prof. Dr. Frank Lehmkuhl
SFB 1066 Nano-Dimensional Polymer Therapeutics for Tumour Therapy Prof. Dr. Rudolf Zentel, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz Prof. Dr. Twan Lammers, Ph.D.
SFB 1053 MAKI - Multi-Mechanism Adaption for the Future Internet (de) Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralf Steinmetz, TU Darmstadt Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Wehrle
SFB 806 Our Way To Europe: Culture-Environment Interaction and Human Mobility in the Late Quaternary Prof. Dr. Jürgen Richter, University of Cologne Prof. Dr. Frank Lehmkuhl
TRR 88 Cooperative Effects in Homo- and Heterometallic Complexes Prof. Gereon Niedner-Schatteburg, TU Kaiserslautern Prof. Dr. Frédéric Patureau