Steering Committee of the RWTH Center for Young Academics

  Copyright: © Martin Braun



+49 241 80 99527



The RWTH Center for Young Academics is supported by a Steering Committee in terms of content development as well as strategic and structural and development. The committee is composed of representatives of the faculties, Profile Areas, doctoral candidates, postdocs, and Advanced Talents and is coordinated by the Vice-Rector for Human Resources Management and Development. The Steering Committee is the Universiy’s governance unit for the support of doctoral candidates, postdocs, and Advanced Talents.

The committee identifies challenges and development opportunities, provides ideads, and develops sustainable solution proposals. By involving all relevant institutions and target groups, it also forms an interactive platform for the exchange of good practice and innovative strategies, seeking to create an efficient culture of talent management at RWTH. The Steering Committee meets several times a year and also forms agile focus groups to develop solutions that benefit early-career researchers.

The work of the committee is coordinated and supported by the Center for Young Academics, a unit in Department 12.1 Young Academics and Talent Management.

Members of the CYA Steering Committee (as of July 2022)
Name Area of Responsibility
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Regina Palkovits Profile Areas
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Carsten Honerkamp Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Natural Sciences
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Raabe Faculty of Architecture
apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jaan-Willem Simon Faculty of Civil Engineering
Prof. Dr. phil. Ingrid Isenhardt Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Elisabeth Clausen
Spokesperson of the Steering Committee
Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael Vorländer Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
Prof. Dr. phil. Florian Hartmann Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Prof. rer. pol. Almut Balleer School of Business and Economics
Prof. Dr. med. Mathias Hornef Faculty of Medicine
Simon Schäfer, M. Sc. Doctoral candidates
Dr.-Ing. Weihan Li Postdocs
Dr. Ilka Jahn Advanced Talents