Heitfeld Prize for Young RWTH Researchers

Copyright: © Martin Lux

Graduates from the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering were honored for their outstanding achievement in the geosciences.


The Professor Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld Foundation annually awards the Heitfeld Prize to Master's and doctoral graduates from the RWTH Aachen Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering. At this year's award ceremony, the 22nd of its kind, five graduates received the prize for their achievements in the geosciences.

The Professor Dr. Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld-Stiftung was founded by the professor emeritus of engineering geology and hydrogeology and his wife in 1995. Recipient of the Bundesverdienstkreuz or Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, 1st class, he was appointed professor at the Aachen university in 1970. In March 1990, he retired after 20 years. During this time he significantly contributed to the development of engineering geology in Germany.

Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg started off the celebratory event at the SuperC. Afterwards, Professor Wolfgang Preuße, Dean of the RWTH Aachen Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering, handed out the certificates to the graduates. Bianca Coline Biehl and Johannes Josef Böcker were honored for their doctoral dissertations, Uwe Boester received the award for his Master's thesis. Yorck Felix Adrian and Lisa Tahnee Konefke obtained travel grants.

Redaktion: Press and Communications