RWTH Aachen University has a new Board of Governors

Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

The board is made up of four new and five existing members.


At the constituent meeting of the Board of Governors of RWTH Aachen University, Senior Minister Sigrid Rix-Diester presented the members with their certificates of appointment for the coming term of office from 2022 to 2027. The council's duties include participation in the University election assembly for the election of the Rectorate and supervision of the Rectorate's management. The Board of Governors must approve the University development plan, the target agreements and the economic plan of the University. What's more, it brings ideas and impulses from various areas of society to the university, such as from research and business. It has an advisory function vis-à-vis the Rectorate.

The new members of the Board of Governors are Dr. Sabine Behrenbeck (Head of Tertiary Education - German Council of Science and Humanities), Dr. Peter Körte (Chief Technology Officer/Chief Strategy Officer - Siemens AG), Professor Armin Nassehi (Chair of the Institute of Sociology - General Sociology and Social Theory - Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich) and Laura Witzenhausen (System Management/Networks Officer - Amprion GmbH). As before, the board includes Professor Koenraad Debackere (Chair of Economics; Executive Director of KU Leuven Research & Development), Professor Raoul Klingner (Director of Research - Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft), Dr. Waltraud Kreutz-Gers (Chancellor of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz), Professor Ingrid Mertig (Chair of Theoretical Physics - Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg) and Christoph Schmallenbach (Chief Executive Officer - Generali Schweiz Holding AG). The members of the Board of Governors elected Raoul Klinger as Chairman, Waltraud Kreutz-Gers as Vice-Chairman and Christoph Schmallenbach to the Executive Board.


The constituent meeting of the RWTH Aachen University Board of Governors: Senior Minister Sigrid Rix-Diester (3rd from right), alongside RWTH Rector Professor Ulrich Rüdiger, presented the members with their certificates of appointment.


Board of Governors