Aachen Engineering Award

  Aachen Engineering Award sculpture © Stefan Hense

VDI, the Association of German Engineers, has sponsored the sculpture, which was designed by the Mexican artist Mariana Castilla Deball.

  People on a stage during an award ceremony © Heike Lachmann The Aachen Engineering Award was presented to Dr. Melanie Maas-Brunner in 2023.

The Aachen Engineering Award, initiated in 2014 by RWTH Aachen and the City of Aachen, is annually awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the positive perception and/or further development of engineering with his or her life’s work. Award recipients are selected by a high-profile advisory board.


The prize is awarded during a celebratory evening event after the University's large Graduation Celebration with about 5,000 participants.  Every recipient of the Aachen Engineering Award has the honor of talking about their life’s work to graduates in the key-note speech and serving as a role model to the young generation.


Aachen Engineering Award Recipients

2023: Dr. Melanie Maas-Brunner

2022: Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim

2020: Professor Sebastian Thrun

2019: Hans Peter Stihl

2018: Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier

2017: Professor Manfred Weck

2016: Dr. Thomas Reiter

2015: Professor Franz Pischinger

2014: Professor Berthold Leibinger

Further information on the Aachen Engineering Award Website.


Stadt Aachen

Press and Marketing Division


RWTH Aachen

Department 3.0 - Press and Communications