RWTH Professors Provide Expertise to Policy-Makers


RWTH Professors Dirk Abel and Wolfgang Kaysser have been appointed new members of the National Academy of Science and Engineering, acatech.


The National Academy advises political and social policymakers about future technologies and innovation. It represents Germany’s scientific and technology communities both nationally and abroad, supports knowledge transfer between academia and industry, and promotes young researchers in technology and engineering.

At the acatech general assembly in Berlin earlier this month, Professors Abel and Kaysser were appointed as members of the National Academy of Science and Engineering. Professor Dirk Abel is Head of the RWTH Aachen Institute of Control Engineering, Professor Wolfgang Kaysser is Chair of Physical Metallurgy and Metal Physics at RWTH Aachen.

Advice on Future Technology Development

The National Academy’s high-profile researchers from a broad range of subjects provide their expertise to advise policymakers and support the acatech networks in key research areas such as biotechnology and bio-based economy; health technology; nanotechnology; and many others.

The currently 424 acatech experts from research, academia, and industry are committed to supporting at least one of the ten networks which are to identify and address topics for future research and set up project groups to work on solutions and provide recommendations.