NRW Equal Opportunities Officers Elected Spokeswomen


During the recent General Assembly of the State Conference of Equal Opportunity Officers of the Universities and University Clinics of North Rhine-Westphalia (LaKof NRW) at Aachen University, Dr. Ulrike Brands-Proharam Gonzalez, Equal Opportunity Officer of RWTH University, was confirmed as one of the spokeswomen.


Dr. Ulrike Brands-Proharam Gonzalez begins her second term in office. The conference office will thus remain in the RWTH Equal Opportunities Office for a further two years.

The State Conference is a coalition of the equal opportunities officers of a given state’s universities. Their function is to share information, work towards common goals, and to take political action at the national level. The LaKof usually meets twice a year for general meetings. These are often combined with a conference that is open to the public.

The LaKof NRW comprises 43 member universities and elects a four-member committee of spokespersons every two years. Also elected as speakers were Annelene Gäckle, University of Cologne, Kirsten Pinkvoss, FernUniversität in Hagen, and Birgit Weustermann, Ruhr West University of Applied Sciences.