RWTH Honors Outstanding Professors

RWTH Fellows Copyright: © Thilo Vogel

Professors Wolfgang Bleck, Rik W. De Doncker, Josef Hegger, Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann, Fritz Klocke, Wolfgang Schröder, Christian Trautwein, and Bettina Wiese have all been named RWTH Fellows. With this title, RWTH honors excellent, outstanding professors at RWTH Aachen with outstanding research achievements that have significantly contributed to the University's success. The title also carries an award of 50,000 Euros, which can be used for research.


The RWTH Fellows program was introduced as part of the Place to Be measure within the framework of the Excellence Initiative. Deans nominate candidates from their faculty. A selection committee then makes a decision with the help of external reviewers. Selected nominees are appointed for the duration of their employment at RWTH Aachen.

The eight new RWTH Fellows represent the broad spectrum of the RWTH faculties: Wolfgang Bleck is Chair of Ferrous Metallurgy and Rik W. De Doncker conducts research at the Institute of Power Electronics and Electrical Drives. Josef Hegger works at the Chair of Structural Concrete and Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann is Chair of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Psychotherapy. Fritz Klocke teaches about manufacturing process technology, and Wolfgang Schröder is head of the Chair of Fluid Mechanics. Christian Trautwein is Chair of Internal Medicine with a focus on gastroenterology and metabolic disorders and Bettina Wiese teaches at the Chair of Psychology.

The title was awarded during the Melatener Gespräche 2014. Professors met to network among themselves as with partners from science, business, and politics. Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg and Vice-Rector Doris Klee handed out the certificates to the RWTH Fellows.

You can get additional information from Maria Tojcic at the RWTH Exploratory Research Space. She can be reached at 0241/80-20794 or .

Photo caption: Eight RWTH professors have been named RWTH Fellow by Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg (left) and Vice-Rector Doris Klee (right). The university awards this title to recognize outstanding research. The RWTH Fellows present included Fritz Klocke, Wolfgang Bleck, Wolfgang Schröder, Rik W. De Doncker, Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann, Bettina Wiese, and Josef Hegger (from left). Christian Trautwein is not pictured.

Source: Press and Public Relations