Research Prizes Recipients


RWTH Aachen is proud to be the home institution of the recipients of various important research prizes.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (DFG)
Year Name
2019 Professor Matthias Wessling
2014 Professor Rainer Waser
2014 Professor Leif Kobbelt
2008 Professor Martin Beneke*
2002 Professor Wolfgang Dahmen*
2001 Professor Wolfgang Marquardt*
1995 Professor Siegfried Bethke*
1993 Professor Dieter Enders
1990 Professor Norbert Peters
1986 Professor Peter R. Sahm

Alexander von Humboldt-Professuren (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation)
Year Name
2023 Professor Heike Vallery
2023 Professor Hector Geffner
2022 Professor Holger Hoos
2018 Professor Wil van der Aalst
2018 Professor Raul Tempone
2011 Professor David Di Vincenzo (FZ Jülich and RWTH Aachen)
2010 Professor Matthias Wessling

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize (DFG)
Year Name
2021 Junior Professor Jakob Nikolas Kather*
2000 Professor Leif Kobbelt (then at Max Planck Institut for Informatics)

Professor Martin Grohe (then at University of Freiburg)

1993 Professor Matthias Wuttig (then at FZ Jülich)
1993 Professor Stefan Blügel (FZ Jülich and RWTH; then only at FZ Jülich)
1991 Professor Jun Okuda (then at TU München)
1991 Professor Carsten Bolm (then at TU Darmstadt)

Innovation Prize of the State of NRW (Innovation Category)
Year Name
2022 Professor Antonello Monti
2013 Professor Christian Hopmann
2011 Professor Reinhart Poprawe*
Innovation Prize of the State of NRW (Young Talent Category)
Year Name
2021 Dr. Jonas Christ*
2019 Dr.-Ing. Valentine Gesché*

Professor Sonja Herres-Pawlis (then appointed at TU Dortmund University)


Professor Regina Palkovits (then also appointed at The Max Planck Institut für Kohlenforschung)

Innovation Prize of the State of NRW (innovation2business Category)
Jahr Name
2023 Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer, in collaboration with Dr.-Ing. Kai-Philipp Kairies (ACCURE Battery Intelligence GmbH)
Alfried Krupp Funding Award for Young University Professors (Alfried Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach Foundation)
Year Name
2011 Professor Hendrik Bluhm
1987 Professor Heinrich Kurz


Note: the prizewinners are either no longer or no longer full-time employees of RWTH (*) or are deceased (†)