ErasmusStudent Mobility

Key Info

Basic Information

Target Group:
Doctoral Candidates
Direction / Place:

The ERASMUS Scheme

ERASMUS stands for "European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students" and supports students who wish to embark upon a study abroad placement in order to get to know a foreign culture and enhance their social and intercultural skills. Participants also learn to adapt to an unfamiliar academic system and have the chance to get acquainted with different teaching and learning methods.


Eligible for ERASMUS are students who have completed their first year of study; doctoral students are also eligible to apply. Successful applicants (there are more applications than ERASMUS placements) may receive funding for study abroad periods between three and ten months.


ERASMUS participants receive an allowance towards living costs, and they pay no tuition fees for their study abroad period. Further, students may take part in intensive language courses if the language of the destination country is not widely taught.

Qualifications obtained during the ERASMUS period are recognised by RWTH Aachen University.

For more comprehensive information, please visit the ERASMUS web pages of the International Office.