Exploratory Teaching Space


The Exploratory Research Space, ETS, was established as part of the Institutional Strategy for Teaching  – building on positive experiences in research – in 2009 at RWTH Aachen. ETS' aim is to create a platform for creative idea generation in teaching at RWTH.

Calls are published annually. Submitted proposals are evaluated internally by RWTH and then sent to the ETS selection committee, which is made up of the ETS steering committee, an elected academic staff representative, a student representative and the CLS management.

The selection process is subject to the code of conduct and pre-determined selection criteria.

The funding period lasts up to twelve months. Grants can be used for both material and personnel costs.


ETS Projects 2021

ETS-Number Title/Topic Applicant Institute
ETS 474

A hitchhiker's guide through the mouse - Per Anhalter durch die Maus

Abstract (de)

Dr. Anna-Christin Joel

Institute for Biology II (Zoology) - Molecular and Systemic Neurophysiology (Bio II)

Prof. Björn Kampa

ETS 484

Programmierpraxis im physikalischen Praktikum mit MicroPython

Abstract (de)

Dr. Sebastian Staacks 2. Physikalisches Institut A
ETS 475

Virtual-Reality Exkursionen an archäologische Stätten in Israel/Palästina

Abstract (de)

Prof. Simone  Paganini Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Biblische Theologie (kt)
Dr. Christina Kumpmann
ETS 479

Wie der Ingenieur die Medizin besser versteht, indem er sie begreift.

Abstract (de)

Prof. Martin Baumann Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Medizintechnik (AME)
Dr. Andreas Ritter Klinik für Diagnostische und Interventionelle Radiologie der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen (RAD)
Dr. Lea Hitpaß
ETS 482

Mat2Inno: Hybrides Design Thinking für die Materialanwendungen von morgen

Abstract (de)

Prof. Thomas Gries Lehrstuhl für Textilmaschinenbau und Institut für Textiltechnik (ITA)
Hannah Kelbel (geb. Koch)
ETS 487

Live-Skriptbasierte Plattform zur Förderung des Selbststudiums fluidtechnischer Phänomene und Systeme

Abstract (de)

Prof. Katharina Schmitz Institut für fluidtechnische Antriebe und Systeme (ifas)
Gunnar Matthiesen
ETS 488

BioLabSim als Mikrobiologisches Betriebssystem für Individualisierte Hausaufgaben

Abstract (de)

Prof. Lars Blank Institut für Angewandte Mikrobiologie (iAMB)
Dr. Nicole Maaßen
Dr. Ulf Liebal
Karsten Braun Fachgruppe Biologie - Aachener Biologie und Biotechnologie
ETS 478

Studieren erfahrbar machen (SEM)

Abstract (de)

Prof. Stefan Roth III. Physikalisches Institut B (Physik 3B)
Dr. Ahmad Asali Lehrstuhl für Experimentalphysik (Festkörperphysik) und II. Physikalisches Institut
ETS 468

One size fits all? - Personalisierte Erkennung von unerwünschten Arzneimittelwirkungen mittels Serious Gaming

Abstract (de)

Dr. Katja Just Institute of Clinical Pharmacology (ICP)
Martin Lemos Audivisuelles Medienzentrum (AVMZ)
Prof. Julia Stingl Institute of Clinical Pharmacology
The ETS Steering Committee
Professor Aloys Krieg Vice-Rector for Teaching
Dr. Elke Müller Head of Department 4 – Research and Career
Professor Heribert Nacken Rector's Delegate for Blended Learning
Dipl.-Kff. Claudia Römisch Head of Division 6.2 – Teaching
Federal Ministry of Education and Research logo Stifterverband logo