Key Info

Basic Information

Prof. Dr. Christoph Jungemann
Faculty / Institution:
Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
Joint Technology Initiatives
Project duration:
01.04.2017 to 31.03.2020
EU contribution:
12.081.281,89 euros
  EU flag This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 737454.  


TowARds Advanced bicmos NanoTechnology platforms for rf and thz applicatiOns


The TARANTO project targets to break the technological barriers to the development of the next BiCMOS technology platforms, allowing the improvement of the performance of the HBT (Heterojunction Bipolar Transistors) with a much higher level of integration. This new generation of transistors HBT will be a key factor to meet the needs of high-speed communications systems and high data rate required for the integration of heterogeneous intelligent systems as well as for intelligent mobility systems that will be used in future fully automated transport systems. The main objectives of this project will be to develop transistors HBT offering high maximum frequency (Fmax: 600GHz) built to very high density CMOS processes: 130 / 90nm for IFX, 55 / 28nm to ST, while IHP will work on the project to achieve maximum frequencies of 700GHz remaining compatible with IFX and ST BiCMOS processes.


  • STMicroelectronics S.A., France (Coordinator)
  • STMicroelectronics Crolles 2 SAS, France
  • Université de Montpellier, France
  • Université de Bordeaux, France
  • Université de Lille, France
  • Université des sciences et technologies de Lille, France
  • XMOD Technologies, France
  • INRAS GmbH, Austria
  • Universität Linz, Austria
  • Infineon Technologies AG, Germany
  • Infineon Technologies Dresden GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
  • IHP GmbH – Innovations for High Performance Microelectronics, Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik, Germany
  • Micram Microelectronic GmbH, Germany
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • Universität des Saarlandes, Germany
  • Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • I.S.D. Lyseis Olokriromenon Systimatonanonymos Etaireia, Greece
  • Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • STMicroelectronics S.r.l., Italy
  • Università degli studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy
  • Università degli studi di Pavia, Italy
  • Università degli studi di Roma la sapienza, Italy
  • Interuniversitair Micro-Electronica Centrum, Belgium
  • DICE Danube Integrated Circuit Engineering GmbH & Co. KG, Austria
  • Università della Calabria, Italy
  • Université Grenoble Alpes, France
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany
  • Alcatel-Lucent Deutschland AG, Germany (Participation ended)
  • Nokia Solutions and Networks GmbH & CO.KG, Germany
  • Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany
  • Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany