RWTH Professor Appointed to NRW Academy


Gabriele Gramelsberger, Head of the Chair of Theory of Science and Technology at RWTH, has been admitted to the humanities class.


The North-Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities, and the Arts has recently admitted twelve new members, including RWTH Professor Gabriele Gramelsberger. Academy President Professor Wolfgang Löwer presented her with the admission certificate during the Academy's annual celebration. The professor was admitted in recognition of her outstanding research work.

Gabriele Gramelsberger is Head of the Chair of Theory of Science and Technology at RWTH. She is also a member of the Human Technology Center and vice-dean for research at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities.

Gramelsberger received her doctorate in philosophy from Freie Universität Berlin in 2002, where she also taught from 2004 to 2014, before lecturing and earning her habilitation (post-doctoral traching qualification) at Technische Universität Darmstadt. From 2008 to 2014, the professor was head of the BMBF German Ministry of Education and Research Collaborative Research Project "Embodied Information" – 'Living' Algorithms and Cellular Machines'".

Gramelsberger was a visiting scholar at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg and a researcher at the German Research Foundation, or DFG-funded Institute of Advanced Study on Media Cultures of Computer Simulation at Leuphana University of Lüneburg. In 2016, she moved on to the Chair of Philosophy of Digital Media at the University of Witten/Herdecke before being appointed at RWTH the following year.

In 2018, she founded the RWTH’s Computational Science Studies Lab, CSS Lab for short, as part of the NRW Digital Fellowship for Innovations in University Teaching. The CSS Lab aims to teach students in humanities and the social sciences about the shift from science into computational science. In 2018, the DFG appointed her member of the Alliance Initiative Digital Information.

The NRW Academy is an association of leading researchers in the state of North-Rhine-Westphalia. It was founded in 1970 as the successor to the Association for Research of North-Rhine-Westphalian Research Working Group. The Academy is divided into scientific classes for the humanities, sciences and medicine, engineering and economics, and a class for the arts. The Academy currently has around 230 full members and 140 corresponding members.

Source: Press and Communications