RWTH Crew Has Sensational Win Over Cambridge and Pisa


The invitation alone to the Pisa-Pavia Traditional Regatta was a success. RWTH crew also accomplished an outstanding win in the races in the Italian Pisa. With a victory over the legendary Cambridge crew and the boat of the hosts, Pisa, the Aachen rowers secured the trophy at the race's 50th anniversary.

  Copyright: © RWTH Aachen University Sports Center RWTH Crew Has Sensational Win Over Cambridge and Pisa

The openning to this year's competition season couldn't have been more brilliant. The German university champions from 2011, won the traditional regatta, first held in 1929, between the Pisa and Pavia Universities. The men from the emperial city already had it as difficult as it gets in the forerun. Of all the possibilities coming into the final, they had to fight against the extremely strong boat from Cambrigde, with the boat race champion of the English elite universities. The boat from Aachen initially had problems in the first of the two runds. Despite the allegedly worse lane, the Germans managed a burst of speed during the second half of the 500 sprint distance and even won at almost a whole boat length ahead of the British. A bitter defeat for the athletes from the British Isles.

In the second run, it only got closer. The RWTH crew displayed its extraordinary starting qualities and was already leading by 300 meters. The men insisted on claiming the victory. In the final run, they had to compete against the boot of their hosts, Pisa. A good 2000 spectators lined the regatta route on the Arno. Under the Tuscan sunset, they became witnesses to RWTH crew's safe win, which secured its win of the jubilee regatta. Victors and those defeated celebrated afterwards at a celebratory banquet in the cloister Certosa di Calci o di Pisa. This season opening was an unexpected success for the Aachen rowers.

The actual high point of the season, the Deutsche Hochschulmeisterschaft in Bad Lobenstein, first takes place in about five weeks. Until then the strokesmen Christian Reckzügel, Andreas Penkner, Mario Friese, Julian Zawila, Niklas Kell, Florian Heesen, Stefan Nolden, Jonas Wilke, and bowman Frederik Böhm are training further to defend their title. Their sensational win at Pisa should provide the necessary tailwind.