Rectors Discuss Higher Education Act


NRW State Rectors' Conference meets in Aachen.

  A group of people on the stairs at the RWTH Main Building Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

No other federal state has as many students as North Rhine-Westphalia. There are 772,000 at 70 universities. In order to advance the standard of NRW as a location for science and research both nationally and internationally and to make it attractive, the state's 16 universities have joined the Universität NRW – Landesrektorenkonferenz der Universitäten e.V. (LRK NRW), or State Rectors' Conference of the Universities of North Rhine-Westphalia. The 192th meeting of the LRK NRW now took place in Aachen. The rectors meet four times a year at different locations. "I am very pleased to have been able to welcome my colleagues in Aachen. We had a very constructive meeting," said the Rector of RWTH Aachen University, Professor Ulrich Rüdiger.

One of the topics discussed was the new Higher Education Act, on which the LRK takes a firm position. This stands for the trust that the current state government places in the universities when it comes to their ability to shape their own future, and strengthens NRW as a science location. However, the establishment of a central doctoral college for the universities of applied sciences provided for in the law was rejected.

Members of the LRK are the 14 universities RWTH Aachen University, Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln, Bielefeld, Universität zu Köln, Bochum, Bonn, Münster, Dortmund, Paderborn, Düsseldorf, Siegen, Duisburg-Essen, Wuppertal and Fernuniversität Hagen, which are sponsored by the state of NRW. The University of Witten/Herdecke and the Police College in Münster are also members.

Source: Press and Communication