Awarding of the Friedrich Wilhelm Prizes 2012


RWTH Aachen honored 31 students, doctoral candidates, and post-docs with the 2012 Friedrich Wilhem Prize. The honor is annually awarded to RWTH Aachen students and talented researchers, who are chosen for their outstanding achievements. The award ceremony took place during a celebration at the university.

  Friedrich Wilhem Prize Winners 2012 © Martin Lux Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg honored students, doctoral candidates, and post docs with the Friedrich Wilhem Prize 2012 for outstanding achievements.

The Friedrich Wilhem Prize is awarded by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current Aachener und Münchener Beteiligungsgesellschaft. Its central purpose is to promote research and teaching at RWTH Aachen and to support students and scientists. The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he receive a donation of 5000 talers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft, in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhein province. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen.

17 diplom or Master's theses or Staatsexamen, 12 dissertations, and 2 post doc theses were distinguished this year in the university's nine faculties. Recipients of the Friedrich Wilhelm Prize 2012 include private lecturer Christoph Patrick Beier, Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Nora Bock, Dr.rer.pol. Ralph Breuer, Dr.rer.pol. Lena Teresa Calahorrano Peňa, Dr.rer.medic. Edna-Clarisse Ciesliek, Dipl.-Ing. Martin Claßen, Dr.rer.medic. Miriam Dyck, Dipl.-Ing. Jonas Eickmann, Dr.-Ing. Thomas Gebhardt, Dipl.-Phys. Sebastian Heedt, Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Jörn Hünteler, private lecturer Dr.rer.nat. Lynn Huestegge, Dipl.-Ing. Rolf Isele-Holder, Dante Marvin Kennes M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Wilhelm Klozoris, Martin Ulrich Lang M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Michael Lorenz, Dr.-Ing. Henning Sebastian Lüpschen, Carina Merkens M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Lutz Pauli, Dipl.-Gyml. Magdalena Caroline Pfalzgraf, Dr.-Ing. Martina Neises-von Puttkamer, Dr.rer.nat. Giulia Rossetti, Dr.-Ing. Laurent Schmalen, Dr.rer.nat. Vladimir Shikhman, Dr.-Ing. Jaan-Willem Simon, Thorsten Skrypzak M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Nikolas Torscheit, Christian Weber M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Johannes Edgar Willkomm MBA, and Sandra Zobel.


Kármán Award for Christine Blesinger

Kármán Award for Christine Blesinger © Martin Lux Christine Blesinger was honored with the Kármán Award.

Christine Blesinger was awarded the Kármán Prize during the celebration. This prize is given to "enrolled and former RWTH Aachen students no later than two years after their studies for outstand services at RWTH Aachen". Blesinger, born 1986, studied mechanical engineering in a Diplom course of study from 2005 to 2011 and now works at the RWTH Aachen Chair of Technical Thermodynamics.

During her studies, she was first involved in the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, in the faculty council, in the budget and structure committee, in the committee for the use of student fees, and in different appointment commitees. She was also a student member in the RWTH Aachen Senate and was speaker for the Students' Group. In the nationwide competition "Excellence of Teaching", she contributed a great deal to the proposal and presented part of it to the jury in Berlin. Since then she assumed many offices and functions, such as the Financial Advisor in AStA. Professor Dr.rer.nat. Dr.h.c. Wolfgang Thomas, Chair of the RWTH Aachen Senate till July 2012, honored Blesinger's involvement in his laudatory speech.