Rector's Cup 2013


Even rain and cold couldn't keep true golfers from the right swings. Alumni, professors, friends, and donors of RWTH Aachen proved this at this year's Rector's Cup.


The adverse storm conditions accompanied the activities during the eleventh RWTH Aachen golf tournament at the Mergelhof Golf Club near Gemmenich. However, the 60 participants did not give up their good mood and joy of playing.

The focus of this RWTH golf tournament is more on the team rather than on individuals' performance. Using the "Texas Scramble" rules, four individuals made up a team or flight, as it is referred to in golf.

Award Ceremony

During the evening award ceremony, the successful participants were in a particularly good mood. After the gross evalution, Dominic A. Abel, Johannes Käppeler, Dr. Frank Schmitz, and Dr. Ute Stalschus-Stähler were the inners. The net evaluation determined Dr. Peter Ehrentraut, Dr. Günter Christian van Eys, Professor Gernot Güntherodt, and Mario Victor as the winners. There were also two special awards:The "Longest Drive“ among the women was won by Waltraud Witte-Ehrentraut, and by Dominic A. Abel among the men. Waltraud Witte-Ehrentraut won the "Nearest to the Pin" award in the women's group and Professor Gerhard Jakse among the men.