Awarding of the Friedrich Wilhelm Prizes 2013

Photo of the Prize Winners Copyright: © Martin Lux

RWTH Aachen honored 27 students, doctoral candidates, and post-docs with the 2013 Friedrich Wilhem Prize. The honor is annually awarded to RWTH Aachen students and researchers who are chosen for their outstanding achievements. The award ceremony took place during a celebration at the university.


The Friedrich Wilhem Prize is awarded by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current Aachener und Münchener Beteiligungsgesellschaft. Its central purpose is to promote research and teaching at RWTH Aachen and to support students and scientists.

The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he receive a donation of 5000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft, in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhein province. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen.

This year, 10 Diplom or Master's theses, 13 dissertations, and four postdoctoral theses received the award.

The award recipiemts are Dr.-Ing. Marc Aretz, Christoph Nils Bannwarth M.Sc., Dipl.-Ing. Manuel Brüderlin, Dr.phil. Nina Bücker, Danilo Bzdok, Christian Leonhard Maria Corsten M.Sc., Dr.rer.nat. Philip Wolfram Engel, Dr.rer.pol. Andrea Hammermann, Dr.rer.nat. Veronika Hoepfner, PD Dr.rer.nat. Kerstin Jost, Alexander Florian Katzur M.Sc., Dr.-Ing. Matthias Korb, Nisreen Kweider, PD Dr.rer.nat. Elisa A. Liehn, Dr.rer.nat. Ha Vinh Lam Nguyen, PD Dr.rer.nat. Miriam Pfeiffer, Alice Elisabeth Reil M.Sc., PD Dr.rer.nat. Daniel Robertz, Dr.-Ing. Antje Rückert, Dr.-Ing. Lisa Schäfer, Beate Schumann M.Sc., Christina Schüßler M.Sc., Sebastian Thüer M.Sc., Judith Tillmann, Dr.-Ing. Nandhakumar Vijayakumar, Leroy Zimmermann M.Sc., and Stefan Zimmermann M.Sc.