Heitfeld Awards for Young Researchers

Copyright: © Martin Lux

Each year, the Professor Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld Foundation presents awards to outstanding Master’s graduates and doctoral candidates in the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering.


At the 2013 award ceremony opened by RWTH Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg, Professor Thomas Rüde presented the dissertation award to Dr. Yves Gensterblum. Charitra Jain, Alexander König, Alexander Raith, and Katharina Wimmers received awards for their Master’s theses.

The Professor Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld Foundation was established by Karl-Friedrich Heitfeld and his wife. Heitfeld, who is emeritus professor of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, has received the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Federal Cross of Merit). During his professorship at RWTH Aachen between 1970 and 1990, he significantly contributed to the development of the field of Engineering Geology in Germany.

Photo: From left to right: Martina Fromhold-Eisebith, Spokesperson for the Division of Earth Sciences and Geography, Yves Gensterblum, RWTH Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg, Alexander Raith, Donor Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld, Katharina Wimmers, Thomas Rüde, Deputy Spokesperson for the Division of Earth Sciences and Geography, Alexander König, and Charitra Jain.