Presentation of the 2019 Friedrich Wilhelm Awards


This year, RWTH Aachen University honored 30 graduates with the 2019 Friedrich Wilhelm Award for their outstanding achievements. These included 13 Master's theses, 15 dissertations, and 2 habilitations.

  Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter RWTH Rector Ulrich Rüdiger, wearing his chain of office, presented the honorees with the 2019 Friedrich Wilhelm Award.

This year’s awardees were: Jan-Lukas Archut M. Sc., Robin Jan Drabinski M. Sc., Alina Hermann M. Sc., Flemming Holtorf M. Sc., Eva-Maria Hoyer M. Sc., Jessica Jumpertz M.A., Arne Küderle M. Sc., Stefanie Anja Lösing M. Sc., Carolin Möllers M. Sc., Nicolas Patrick Maria Pauen M. Sc., Tim Andreas Reuscher M. Sc., Sarah Lynn Strauch M. Ed., Tim Übelhör M. Sc., Dr.-Ing. Tim Brepols, Dr. rer. nat. Jan Philipp Dabruck, Dr. rer. nat. Joana Frobel, Dr.-Ing. Kristina Fuhrmann, Dr. rer. pol. Stephan Martin Hankammer, Dr. phil. Patricia Dominika Hirsch, Dr. med. Sebastian Hummel, Dr.-Ing. Dominik Alexander Kueres, Dr. med. Christina Meyer, Dr.-Ing. Jamal S. Slim, Dipl.-Inf. Sven Christoph Stumm, Dr.-Ing. Seyes Omid Taghizadeh Motlagh, Dr. rer. medic. Diane Uschner, Dr. rer. nat. Grigoriy Volovskiy, Dr. rer. pol. Annika Wiecek, Privatdozent Dr. rer. pol. David Antons, and Privatdozent Dr.-Ing. Hauke Springer.

Supporting Teaching and Research

The Friedrich Wilhem Award is presented by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current AachenerMünchener holding company. The key aim of the award is to promote research and teaching, as well as support students and scientists at RWTH. The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he received a donation of 5,000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhineland. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen University.

Source: Press and Communications