2019 Teaching Awards


Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer and CAMMP receive 2019 Teaching Award 

  Copyright: © Heike Lachmann Vice-Rector Krieg (right) presents Professor Sauer with the 2019 Teaching Award in the "Instructor of the Year" category.

RWTH has awarded its “Instructor of the Year” and “Project of the Year” awards to honor excellence in the area of teaching and learning. The University has been honoring instructors and teaching and learning initiatives with this distinction since 2001.

During the RWTHtransparent event on January 31, 2020, Vice-Rector Professor Aloys Krieg presented the 2019 Teaching Award to Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer and the CAMMP project.

Thanks to his innovative and inspiring teaching practices, Sauer is particularly successful in enthusing beginning students and easing their transition to university study. Students praise, for example, his incorporation of digital teaching tools such as explanatory videos as well as online lectures tutorials.

  Copyright: © Heike Lachmann The CAMMP project receives the 2019 Teaching Award. Dr. Nicole Faber, Professor Benjamin Stamm und Dr. Christina Roeckerath (from left) accepted the prize during the RWTHtransparent event.

The “Project of the Year” award went to the CAMMP initiative, which follows a holistic approach to teaching mathematical modelling to students, school students, as well as teachers. The aim is to demonstrate how computational and mathematical concepts can be used to solve problems in business, industry, and society. Supported by instructors, participants are encouraged to develop solutions to real-world challenges. The CAMMP project is coordinated by Dr. Nicole Faber, Professor Benjamin Stamm, and Dr. Christina Roeckerath.

Source: Press and Communications