RWTH Aachen Honors Outstanding Graduates, Doctoral Candidates and Postdocs

Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg and the 2014 award winners Copyright: © Martin Lux

RWTH Aachen honored 28 students, doctoral candidates, and post-docs with the 2014 Friedrich Wilhem Prize. The honor is annually awarded to RWTH Aachen students and researchers for their outstanding achievements. The award ceremony took place during a celebration event at the University.


The Friedrich Wilhem Prize is awarded by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current Aachener und Münchener Beteiligungsgesellschaft. Its central purpose is to promote research and teaching at RWTH Aachen and to support students and scientists.

The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he receive a donation of 5000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft, in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhein province. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen.

This year, ten Master's theses, twelve dissertations, and one postdoctoral thesis received the award.

The 2014 award recipients are Raphaela Kannengießer, Anne Kathrein, René Reimann, Felix Voigtlaender, Dr.rer.nat. Jörg Brauer, Golshan Majlessi, Sophia Perse, Dr.-Ing. Conny Louen, Björn Bahl, Franca Alisa Laura Janssen, Dr.-Ing. Martin Riedel, Dr.-Ing. Philip Morten Schäfer, Markus Grüber, Sebastian Kaufeld, Dr.rer.nat. Maike Didero, Marius Cordts, Jan Kellermann, Dr.-Ing. Matthias Bösing, Dr.-Ing. Tobias Wartzek, Katja Kramer, Christian Schiffer, Dr.phil. Birgit Hammers, Dr.rer.pol. Kalender Can Soypak, Nadine Therese Johanna Gaisa, Dr.rer.medic. Sarah Edith Groppe, Walter Joachim Markus Gabriel Honickel, and Universitätsprofessor David Pfister.