Key Info

Basic Information

Prof. Dr. Dirk Uwe Sauer
Faculty / Institution:
Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
Societal Challenges
Project duration:
01.01.2020 to 30.06.2023
EU contribution:
10.833.759,99 euros
  EU flag This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 875033.  


Delivering the 3b generation of LNMO cells for the xEV market of 2025 and beyond


The development of better materials for use in rechargeable batteries is vital for the future of the electric vehicle market. One of these materials is lithium nickel manganese oxide (LNMO), a cobalt-free cathode material that's a cost-effective alternative to current lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery materials. Using LNMO, the EU-funded 3beLiEVe project aims to produce the next generation of Li-ion rechargeable batteries for electric vehicles in 2025 and beyond. Along with the next-gen battery cells, the project will also develop and integrate internal and external sensors for the cell. The data obtained from these sensors will provide a more timely and accurate view of the state of the cell and will be used to implement smart operating strategies that extend the life of the cell and improve its safety. The smart battery management system will process this data and manage an adaptive liquid cooling system. Manufacturing, second life and recycling aspects are also considered. The project's innovations will play a role in strengthening the European battery and automotive industry.


  • AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria (Coordinator)
  • Centro Ricerche Fiat, Italy
  • DSM Engineering Plastics B.V., Netherlands
  • Insplorion Sensor Systems AB, Sweden
  • Valeo Systèmes Thermiques S.A.S., France
  • Valeo Klimasysteme GmbH, Germany
  • Centro de Investigación Cooperativa en Energía Alternativas CIC energiGUNE Fundazioa, Spain
  • Custom Cells Itzehoe GmbH, Germany
  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Angewandten Forschung e.V., Germany
  • NXP Semiconductors France S.A.S., France
  • Haldor Topsoe AS, Denmark
  • Elkem AS, Norway
  • Agenzia Nazionale per le Nuove Tecnologie, l’Energia e lo Sviluppo economico sostenible, Italy
  • Sensichips S.R.L., Italy
  • Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France
  • Manz Italy S.R.L., Italy
  • Arkema France SA, France
  • Volvo Technology AB, Sweden
  • Société Nouvelle d’Affinage des Métaux – SNAM, France