New Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering


Professor Jörg Feldhusen has been elected Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.


On February 1, 2016, Professor Jörg Feldhusen took office as the new dean of the largest faculty at RWTH Aachen. In its unanimous decision, the Faculty Council supported the nomination by the selection committee consisting of group representatives of the faculty and members of the central university administration.

Jörg Feldhusen, who is elected to a four-year term, replaces Professor Geord Jacobs from the Institute for Machine Elements and Machine Design. He will be supported by Vice-Deans Sabina Jeschke, Christopher Schlick, Christian Hopmann, and Matthias Wessling.

Jörg Feldhusen studied mechanical engineering at Technische Universität Berlin, where he also obtained his doctorate. Prior to his appointment as professor at RWTH Aachen University, he held leading positions at a number of companies.