Presentation of the 2017 Friedrich Wilhelm Awards

Copyright: © RWTH Aachen

RWTH Aachen honored 24 students, doctoral candidates, and post-docs with the 2017 Friedrich Wilhem Prize. The honor is annually awarded to RWTH Aachen students and researchers for their outstanding achievements. The award ceremony took place during a celebration event at the University.


Sven Aretz, Philipp Baranski, Helen Bartsch, Stephan Düber, Philipp Keuter, Anja Leckel, Patrick Schultheis and Niklas Wehbring were honored for their Master's theses. They received prize money of 500 euros each.

Othman Al-Sawaf, David Bendig, Martin Claßen, Rebecca Veronika Engel, Katrin Helmbold, Andreas Georg Hofmann, Lydia Kogler, Kilian Karl Hermann Neubert, Veit Christian Nottebaum, Mehmet Öte, Lutz Helmut Pauli, Elena Pummer, Martin Senst and Thiemo Zambanini were honored for their outstanding doctoral dissertations. They received prize money of 1,000 euros each.

Pascal Buskens and Georg Lurje received 2,000 euros in prize money for their excellent habilitation theses.

Supporting Teaching and Research

The Friedrich Wilhem Award is awarded by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current Aachener und Münchener Beteiligungsgesellschaft. Its central purpose is to promote research and teaching at RWTH Aachen and to support students and scientists.

The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he receive a donation of 5000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft, in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhein province. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen University.