Key Info

Basic Information

Prof. Gerhard Lakemeyer, Ph. D.
Prof. Dr. Bastian Leibe
Faculty / Institution:
Mathematics, Computer Science and Natural Sciences
Industrial Leadership
Project duration:
01.09.2020 to 31.08.2023
EU contribution:
12.000.000 euros
  EU flag This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 952215.  


Foundations of Trustworthy AI - Integrating Reasoning, Learning and Optimization


Maximising opportunities and minimising risks associated with artificial intelligence (AI) requires a focus on human-centred trustworthy AI. This can be achieved by collaborations between research excellence centres with a technical focus on combining expertise in theareas of learning, optimisation and reasoning. Currently, this work is carried out by an isolated scientific community where research groups are working individually or in smaller networks. The EU-funded TAILOR project aims to bring these groups together in a single scientific network on the Foundations of Trustworthy AI, thereby reducing the fragmentation and increasing the joint AI research capacity of Europe, helping it to take the lead and advance the state-of-the-art in trustworthy AI. The four main instruments are a strategic roadmap, a basic research programme to address grand challenges, a connectivity fund for active dissemination, and network collaboration activities.


  • Linkopings Universitet, Sweden (Coordinator)
  • Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy
  • Institut national de recherche en informatique et automatique, France
  • University College Cork – National University of Ireland, Cork, Ireland
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Università degli Studi di Roma la Sapienza, Italy
  • Universiteit Leiden, Netherlands
  • Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal
  • Universidad Pompeu Fabra, Spain
  • Alma Mater Studiorum – Università di Bologna, Italy
  • Bar Ilan University, Israel
  • Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Centre national de la recherche scientifique CNRS, Netherlands
  • Institut Jozef Stefan, Slovenia
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
  • University of Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany
  • The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Università degli Studi di Trento, Italy
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  • Univerzita Karlova, Czechia
  • Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France
  • Université d’Artois, France
  • Ceske Vysoke Uceni Technicke V Praze, Czechia
  • Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
  • Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz GmbH, Germany
  • Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
  • Fraunhofer Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Angewandten Forschung e.V., Germany
  • Technische Universität Graz, Austria
  • Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Spain
  • University of Lancaster, United Kingdom
  • Ethniko Kai Kapodistriako Panepistimio Athinon, Greece
  • Universidad de Málaga, Spain
  • Politechnika Poznanska, Poland
  • Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale per l’informatica, Italy
  • Slovenske Centrum Pre Vyskum Umelejinteligencie – Slovak AI, Slovakia
  • Nederlandse Organisatie Voor Toegepast Natuurwetenschappelijk Onderzoek TNO, Netherlands
  • Università di Pisa, Italy
  • Université Grenoble Alpes, France
  • Universität Basel, Switzerland
  • Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
  • Volkswagen AG, Germany
  • Engineering – Ingegneria Informatica S.p.A., Italy
  • Tieto Finland Oy, Finland
  • Philips Electronics Nederland B.V., Netherlands
  • Electricité de France, France
  • Imperial College of Science Technology and Medicine, United Kingdom
  • ZF Friedrichshafen AG, Germany
  • Luxembourg Institute of Health, Luxembourg
  • Centraal Bureau Voor De Statistiek, Netherlands
  • Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany
  • ABB AB, Sweden