RWTH Professor Sauer Newly Elected to acatech Executive Board


On October 16, 2018, along with with Professor Ann-Kristin Achleitner and Professor Harald Bolt, Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer was elected to the executive board of the National Academy of Science and Engineering, acatech for short.


Sauer is a physicist and the Head of Institute of the Chair of Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage Systems at RWTH Aachen University. Since 2017, he has also been chair and speaker of the academy project "Energy systems of the future," being well positioned due to his expertise in battery storage systems and energy systems analysis. Sauer has been a member of acatech since 2015.

The National Academy of Science and Engineering is being funded by the German federal and state governments and, in an independent manner that is geared at public welfare, supports policymakers and society as a competent and trusted advisor on all manner of engineering and technology-based policy issues in Germany and abroad. The members of acatech are drawn from engineering and the natural sciences, as well as from from the medical sciences, the humanities and the social sciences.

Source: Press and Communications