RWTH Bids Farewell to Mathematics Graduates

A large group of people on a stage looking at the camera Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

Professor Hartmut Führ, department spokesman, and Professor Erhard Cramer, Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Natural Sciences, congratulated the mathematics graduates on their successful completion of studies at this year's Department of Mathematics graduation ceremony.


Professor Ernst Schmachtenberg awarded the 2018 Schöneborn Prize for outstanding Bachelor's theses on behalf of the Verein der Freunde und Förderer der RWTH proRWTH. The happy honorees were: David Wilhelm Bartusel, Mariia Anapolska and Joana Lu Rodriguez Plantikow. Professor Doris Klee, Vice Rector for Human Resources Mangement and Development, congratulated the graduates on behalf of the rectorate and took this opportunity to emphasize to them how important research is and how they now needed to transfer what they had learned about scientific theory to practical applications in their jobs.

The Mathematics/Physics/Computer Science Student Representative Council honored lecturers' work with a teaching award. This year PD Dr. Olaf Wittich was honored for the "best independent teaching" and Jan Knappmann for the "best teaching support."

Source: Press and Communications