RWTH Presents the 2021 Brigitte Gilles Prize

People standing on the roof of the Main Building Copyright: © Andreas Schmitter

Women@TechAachen and Jason Moss have been presented with the Brigitte Gilles Prize.


RWTH recently awarded the 2021 Brigitte Gilles Prize. The prize honors projects and initiatives that promote girls' interest in science and technology, make a contribution to the advancement of women or improve the conditions for women's studies, teaching, and research. Outstanding theses related to the topic of equal opportunities can also be honored. The prize is named after the first RWTH Women's Representative Brigitte Gilles, who taught psychology at the University from 1980 to 1994. Professor Sabine Brück-Dürkop, Vice-Rector for Human Resources Management and Development, presented the prize to representatives of the Women@TechAachen initiative and to Jason Moss.

Women@TechAachen was initiated in May 2021. Kathrin Böttger, Julia Grünewald, and Federica Azzalin want to increase the visibility of women with their activities. That is why they organize events and workshops for women in the TechAachen association – an umbrella organization of 13 technical, student initiatives at Aachen universities.

Jason Moss explored diversity in young adult literature in his Bachelor's thesis, "Sex, Love and Gender in The Hunger Games – The Controversies of Challenging Heteronormativity." He analyzed the topics of gender, sexual norms, and stereotypes in The Hunger Games trilogy. Moss is calling for a consistent depiction of gender identities, especially in young adult literature. He graduated with a Bachelor's degree in March 2021 and is currently enrolled in RWTH's consecutive Master's degree program in Literature and Linguistics and Cognitive, Digital and Empirical English Studies.


The Brigitte Gilles Prize has been awarded to: Student Equal Opportunity Officer Valerie Hartmann (from left), IGaD Director Dr. Ralitsa Petrova-Stoyanov, RWTH Equal Opportunity Officer Dr. Ulrike Brands-Proharam Gonzalez, Equal Opportunity Commission Chair Dr. Iris Reimann, Woman@Tech Aachen award winners Federica Azzalin, Julia Grünewald, and Kathrin Böttger, Professor Sabine Brück-Dürkop, PVice-Rector for Human Resources Management and Development, and prize winner Jason Moss.